Skip to content
Maxime Rafalimanana edited this page Jun 28, 2014 · 26 revisions

What happened to the previous app?

In February 2014, Google removed the first version of Flickr Uploader from the Play Store because the description contained too many keywords, thus violating their spam policy. This unfortunate event did have a positive effect though: it offered me the opportunity to re-design the app, rewrite most of the code for improved stability and change the licensing: the app is still opensource but is now on a 7-day trial. That means that after the 7-day trial, a one-time payment of 4.99 USD is required to continue to use the app.

The app is now back on the Play Store under an the package name com.rafali.flickruploader2 instead of com.rafali.flickruploader. So make sure to uninstall the old package before installing the new one or you will have two identical icons on your system! Also, you will have to reconfigure your monitored folders.

Link to the new app: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.rafali.flickruploader2

What about my Premium account?

If you paid for the Premium in the old app, you should have the PRO license in the new app. If the app does not recognize your account as a PRO one, please contact me by using the Feedback button in the Preferences so I can get infos on your device.

If you used the coupon program to get the app for free you will have to redo it as the links/review you previously shared unfortunately no longer exist so no longer promote the app. Only the favorite on the Flickr app page can be reused. If you wrote a blog post, you can just update the link to my app. When it's done, just send the new screenshots/links to flickruploader@rafali.com.

What do the different icons mean?

Icons

  • White upload icon, middle: image is queued for upload
  • Small white upload icon, bottom left corner: image is uploaded and is private
  • Small orange upload icon, bottom left corner: image is uploaded and is visible to friends/family
  • Small green upload icon, bottom left corner: image is uploaded and is public

How do I know the status of my uploads?

There are two places to check the progress of your uploads: on the main screen or in the notification zone. The uploads are done in the background so you can quit the app and continue to use your phone. You can also configure which notifications you want displayed by changing your preferences.

Note: notifications may not be displayed if the main screen is currently displayed

Notifications  Main screen

Auto-upload does not seem to work properly

Make sure the Auto Upload option is activated in the Preferences. Also make sure the folders you want auto-uploaded are selected in Preferences > Auto Upload Folders.

My uploads fail with strange errors (broken pipe or else)

Make sure you do not have an ad-blocker running on your phone as it messes with the network.

How to make sure it won't use my precious data plan

The 'wifi-only feature' in the app allows the app to notify the OS that it should be using the Wi-Fi only for uploads. However, in some condition when the Wi-Fi is enabled but the signal is not good enough, the OS ignores that setting and send the data through 2G/3G/4G which can cost a lot when you are uploading all your photos! So if you plan on uploading a lot of data, it is safer to tell the OS to never let the app use your 2G/3G/4G:

In the settings, click on 'Data usage'

Settings

Find 'Flickr Uploader' and click on it

Data usage

Make sure the 'Restrict background data' is selected

Flickr Uploader data usage

This can be done on any other app, so it's a good thing to have in mind. The only and obvious drawback is that the app might not work as expected when the Wi-Fi is a bit unreliable.

The PRO license is a bit expensive, can I get it for less?

Yes : https://github.com/rafali/flickr-uploader/wiki/Coupons

I have another question

Please send an email to flickruploader@rafali.com and I will answer as soon as I can. If you can use the Feedback button in the Preferences, it's better as it will attach infos about your phone to your email.