Skip to content
Maxime Rafalimanana edited this page Mar 18, 2014 · 37 revisions

Where is the app???

Google unfortunately removed the first version of Flickr Uploader from the Play Store because the description contained too many keywords, thus violating their spam policy. The app is now back on the Play Store under an new package name. It is rolling out to every country progressively, starting with the US.

What do the different icons mean?

Icons

  • White upload icon, middle: image is queued for upload
  • Small white upload icon, bottom left corner: image is uploaded and is private
  • Small orange upload icon, bottom left corner: image is uploaded and is visible to friends/family
  • Small green upload icon, bottom left corner: image is uploaded and is public

How do I know the status of my uploads?

There are two places to check the progress of your uploads: on the main screen or in the notification zone. The uploads are done in the background so you can quit the app and continue to use your phone. You can also configure which notifications you want displayed by changing your preferences.

Notifications  Main screen

Auto-upload does not seem to work properly

Make sure the Auto Upload option is activated in the Preferences. Also make sure the folders you want auto-uploaded are selected in Preferences > Auto Upload Folders.

How to make sure it won't use my precious data plan

The 'wifi-only feature' in the app allows the app to notify the OS that it should be using the Wi-Fi only for uploads. However, in some condition when the Wi-Fi is enabled but the signal is not good enough, the OS ignores that setting and send the data through 2G/3G/4G which can cost a lot when you are uploading all your photos! So if you plan on uploading a lot of data, it is safer to tell the OS to never let the app use your 2G/3G/4G:

In the settings, click on 'Data usage'

Settings

Find 'Flickr Uploader' and click on it

Data usage

Make sure the 'Restrict background data' is selected

Flickr Uploader data usage

This can be done on any other app, so it's a good thing to have in mind. The only and obvious drawback is that the app might not work as expected when the Wi-Fi is a bit unreliable.

I can't login with Google or Facebook

This app uses the official way to log into Flickr for a third party app: it displays the Yahoo login page in a webview and lets the users enter their credentials on a Yahoo-controlled webpage. Sometimes, on some devices and for reasons unknown to me, Yahoo decides not to display the Google or Facebook login button. Unfortunately I cannot do much about this issue as the login process is entirely controlled by Yahoo.

The only thing I can suggest is to create a Yahoo account and link it to your current Flickr account. As you don't have to create a Flickr account to do that you won't have to re-upload your photos. Here is Flickr forum thread explaining how to do it: http://www.flickr.com/help/forum/en-us/72157635645707755/

Auto-upload was free and now I have to pay, WHY??

Flickr Uploader started as simple project to help me easily upload my photos to Flickr. It took me a few week-ends to put it together. I then published it on the Play Store in case someone else might find it useful. And a few people indeed found it useful, and all was good and peaceful.

Flickr then decided to offer 1 Terabyte of free storage for photos and videos in high-resolution. Since then, a lot more users found my app useful and started to ask for features (video support, charging only, etc...). I was glad to add those features as I would eventually personally need some of them. But recently I noticed that I received more and more support email often related to some obscure bug in the app.

I had 2 choices: ignore all those requests and leave the app in the current state, ie usable but with some bugs here and there or work on the issues reported by the caring users. I opted for the second one. I will continue to improve the app. The goal will be to build the most robust and simple uploader for Flickr so that anyone can set it up and forget it knowing their memories are safe somewhere in the cloud. I will just no longer work on it for free.

So here is what will happen:

  • auto-upload feature will now only be available in Premium
  • it will be available to new users as a 7-day trial
  • previous users (installed the app before 7/13/2013 19:00 GMT) will have 6 months to use it for free
  • users who donated or helped debug the app will have the Premium for free
  • users who are happy with previous version will be able to download it on Github and use it forever for free

Can I download a previous version?

Yes : https://www.dropbox.com/sh/a4dn15nqtec0x2o/QqqMZAy0U8 Old versions might no longer work though, as Flickr sometime changes its API.

The Premium price is a bit high for me, can I get it for less?

Yes : https://github.com/rafali/flickr-uploader/wiki/Coupons

I have another question

Please send an email to flickruploader@rafali.com and I will answer as soon as I can