Skip to content

Brainstorming mode? #793

Description

@chriselrod

I was investigating a bug and planning a fix with an agent. While I was reading a report that it delivered, these messages appeared:

│<system> harness intervention: asked the model to close out its todo list                │
│         You planned 1 item this turn but changed no files. The plan is not the work —   │
│start the first item now with `write` / `edit` (or `bash` if it's a command). Do not     │
│call write_todo_list again until something is actually done.                             │
│                                                                                         │
│                                                                                         │
│<critic> You planned 1 item this turn but changed no files. The plan is not the work —   │
│start the first item now with `write` / `edit` (or `bash` if it's a command). Do not     │
│call write_todo_list again until something is actually done.

and then I had to hit <esc> to cancel and stop the agent from doing something.
The plan and report it gave me was precisely the work I wanted from it and asked of it.

I see that there is e.g. a "default_prompt": "code", and options like "critic_provider": . I hadn't set "critic_provider" before launching that session, so I imagine <critic> come from elsewhere?

How can I stop this from happening?

I did enable

  "phased_workflow_enabled": true,
  "phased_workflow_plan_approval": true,

but haven't tried it yet. But this (and especially that plan approval defaults to false) also seems a little "go code-now" oriented.
Although I'll update my comment after I gave the plan-mode a try.

I get that there are times where pushing the agent to code makes sense. Experimentation is often worth more and cheaper than thinking, so even throw-away edits can be a good way to figure things out.
So I don't want to say these options are wrong, and -- also -- the point for me to try a new harness is to try and understand it, what it does, and how that helps.
So I don't want to disable these settings in general. I'm merely curious if there are modes where they can be turned off until I'm ready to switch to implementation.

Activity

Sign up for free to join this conversation on GitHub. Already have an account? Sign in to comment

Metadata

Metadata

Assignees

No one assigned

    Labels

    No labels
    No labels

    Type

    No type

    Projects

    No projects

      Milestone

      No milestone

      Relationships

      None yet

      Development

      No branches or pull requests

      Issue actions