Skip to content

Ability to Delete Custom Notification Categories for Messaging #228

Description

@wayhappy138

Description

Messaging custom notification categories keep track of all the senders (names and phone numbers) even if all the related messages were deleted, including from an archive.

Steps to reproduce:

  • Open Owner Profile
  • Open native Messaging App > Settings > Notifications
  • Expand Others. Click on 'Show Unused Categories'
  • There is list of Coversation / Notification categories with phone numbers and contact details. There is no way to delete categories, only to disable them.

If an item is deleted as a conversation (by clicking 'Not a conversation'), it would still be moved into 'Other' notification category with no ability to permanently delete them.

From a privacy perspective, it would be amazing to have:

  1. An ability to delete existing custom notification categories.
  2. Having custom categories to be automatically deleted if all related messages got deleted.
  3. Have a global toggle 'Use conversation categories' to prevent them from being created in the first place, similar to the existing toggle 'Use notification history'.

Thank you for making GrapheneOS!

Activity

Sign up for free to join this conversation on GitHub. Already have an account? Sign in to comment

Metadata

Metadata

Assignees

No one assigned

    Labels

    No labels
    No labels

    Projects

    No projects

      Milestone

      No milestone

      Relationships

      None yet

      Development

      No branches or pull requests

      Issue actions